Tiny headlines

Cell_phone_bride

I’m now carrying two mobile phones around with me; one from work and my own. Those of you who know about my obsession with phones and other shiny objects might think I’d enjoy this, but it’s actually kind of annoying, and might just push me over the man bag threshold.

One of them is on Verizon, which has a news section in its mobile web browser. To fit in the limited real estate of the mobile screen they have even fewer words to play with than a newspaper editor, so the headlines are terse, often to the point of incomprehensibility. And they can only fit two on the screen at a time. Here are my favorite recent juxtapositions:

Congress Returns
Mice Overrun Lake Area

Space Shuttle Leaves Dock
Taliban Occupies Area

Heatwave Continues
Pre-teen Sisters Accused

3 thoughts on “Tiny headlines

Leave a comment